Pizza Burgers


I asked my daughter Erin for suggestions for the blog and she asked me to include my Pizza Burger recipe. This recipe was a favorite of mine when I was a kid. (In fact, every child I know loves Pizza Burgers.) My mother made it and kept a batch in the freezer so we could just scoop out some of the topping, put it on a hamburger bun or an English muffin and broil it for lunch, supper or anytime we wanted.

Since I haven’t made Pizza Burgers for many years, I do not have a picture of them. Oh well. I guess you’ll just have to see a picture of the beautiful, young woman who requested the recipe. 🙂

Erin and Julie

My daughter Erin with her sweetie, Julie

Pizza Burgers
Serves an army

1-1/2 lb. lean hamburger
1 medium can Spam
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (or Velveeta)
1 small onion, chopped fine
1 tsp. oregano
1 8-oz. can tomato sauce
1 small can tomato paste
Salt and pepper

Brown hamburger and onion. Add salt and pepper. Drain and cool. Shred Spam and mix with hamburger. Stir in remaining ingredients until everything is thoroughly mixed. The Pizza Burger mix freezes well.

Spread a thin layer (about 1/4 inch) on one side of a hamburger bun or English muffin and broil until cheese is melted and the top is a bit toasted (about 5 minutes). Eat hot.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Entrees or Main Course, General Info, Lunch, My life, Sandwiches, Supper and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.