Salmon with Shrimp Cream Sauce


Shrimp in cream sauce

Fried cabbage, rice and salmon with shrimp in cream sauce.

By the time Friday rolls around, I’m usually tired and ready for a good meal and a quiet evening. Last Friday was no different. It was a busy week at work, and I ended the week with a new haircut and a few errands before heading home to make supper for Don. Don had been out of town for the week, so he was appreciative of a home-cooked meal.

Lois Carter Fay

New hairdo!

Contrary to my usual way of doing things, I actually planned the meal and had the forethought to take the Alaskan Sockeye Wild Salmon Steaks out of the freezer in the morning. I always try to keep a bag of salmon steaks in the freezer since we eat salmon frequently.

Don and I made dinner together. He made most of the meal. We had brown basmati rice with fried cabbage and salmon with shrimp cream sauce. All I really did was the planning and I made the cream sauce. Don made the salmon on the grill (about 8-10 minutes on a medium-hot grill) and boiled the rice. He also made the fried cabbage, a specialty of his.

fried cabbage

Fried cabbage.

Fried Cabbage
Serves 4

1 head of green cabbage
2 tablespoons olive oil
Salt & pepper
Freshly ground nutmeg

Slice the cabbage into 1-inch strips. Heat oil in a skillet and add the cabbage. Add salt and pepper to taste. Add about 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. Stir frequently to prevent burning and fry it until it is tender but still crisp. Serve immediately.

Shrimp with Cream Sauce
Serves 4

2 Tablespoons butter
1 cup fat-free 1/2 and 1/2
1 egg yolk
2 Tablespoons flour
1 teaspoon dried taragon
1/4 teaspoon ground thyme
Salt & pepper
1/4 cup cooking sherry
16 pre-cooked, medium shrimp with tails removed

In a small bowl, whisk the half and half, egg yolk and flour until mixed well. Heat oil in a medium saucepan. Pour the cream mixture into the saucepan and bring to a boil. Add the sherry and spices. Reduce the heat and continue cooking the sauce until it is the consistency of a good gravy. Add the shrimp and heat another five minutes until shrimp are hot.

This sauce is delicious over any kind of fish, rice or noodles. For this meal, we put it over the salmon and rice.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Entrees or Main Course, fish, My life, Side Dishes, Supper, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Salmon with Shrimp Cream Sauce

  1. stub0y says:

    The meal was delicious. Having eaten out all week long I did enjoy Lois’ company in the preparation, eating and cleaning up of this wonderful meal.

Comments are closed.