Squash Bake & Hamburgers


Cheeseburger, beets and squash bake

A very good supper

We bought some delicious “horseradish cheddar” cheese at the Mennonite Relief Sale yesterday, and after tasting it, we decided it would be terrific on a beef sandwich or a hamburger. So tonight we made cheeseburgers on the grill. We also had some buttered beets and a yummy squash bake.

Squash Bake
Serves 2

3 tablespoons olive oil
1 small red onion, sliced
1 zucchini, sliced in rounds
1 yellow squash
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon fresh thyme
1 tablespoon fresh oregano
1 teaspoon dried marjoram
1/4 teaspoon orange zest
Salt & Pepper

squash bake

Before sealing the package and putting it on the grill

On a large piece heavy-duty aluminum foil, pour 2 tablespoons of olive oil, top it with onions, zucchini, spices and salt and pepper. Pour the final tablespoon of olive oil over the top and seal the package. Bake the vegetable package on the grill for about 30 minutes, turning once.

squash bake

All done!

For an easy supper, this turned out to be very good. Now it’s time for ice cream.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Casseroles, Diabetic, Entrees or Main Course, Lunch, My life, Side Dishes, Supper, Vegetables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.