Saturday’s Coming


Donna's Potato Soup

The "noodles" in this onion-based soup are really dumplings.

When I was a child, my mother often made an onion-based potato soup for lunch on Saturdays. We all loved her soup, especially the “noodles” (which I later learned are actually dumplings).

When I made this soup for my first husband, he called it “pepper soup.” My current husband likes the soup, but doesn’t like the noodles. The kids are split on whether they like the noodles, but they all like the soup. The noodles are my favorite part.

Potato Soup
Serves 6

2 Medium Yellow Onions, sliced
1 T Olive Oil
8 cups water
6-10 Large Potatoes, peeled and diced
2 Beef Bouillion Cubes
Salt and Pepper to taste

Noodles (Dumplings)

1 to 1-1/2 cup flour
1 t salt
2 eggs
A little water (if needed)

In a large soup pot or Dutch oven, saute the onions in the olive oil until they are translucent. Add remaining ingredients (except dumplings) and bring soup to a boil. In the meantime, mix the ingredients for the noodles. The batter for the noodles will be yellow and sticky. When the potatoes are tender, drop small amounts of the noodle batter into the hot soup. I use a butter knife to put about one teaspoon of batter per noodle into the soup. Continue to boil the soup for about 10 minutes until the noodles are fluffy but firm.

Taste the soup and adjust the seasoning as desired. I add about 1 teaspoon of salt and enough pepper so that when I take a soup spoon full of the broth, I have about 5 grains of pepper per spoonful. Since I just shake it in, I’m not sure how much pepper this really is. I’d say it’s about 1/2 teaspoon.

~Lois

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Lunch, My life, Soups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.