Wheatberry Salad: Delicious Whole Grain


Wheatberry Salad

Wheatberry Salad is easy to make and delicious.

I have come to love whole grain salads like the one I’m posting today. Whole grains are “complex carbohydrates.” Until recently, I didn’t really understand what complex carbs were. I thought all carbs were “bad” and raised blood sugar quickly, something that I don’t want to happen since I’m diabetic (Type II). But this isn’t true. 

Simple carbs (fruit, sugar, candy, white bread, potatoes, etc.) are digested quickly and therefore, raise blood sugar quickly. But complex carbs take much longer to digest, include insoluble fiber (good for keeping things “moving” in your body), and do not turn directly into glucose in your body. If you are carb counting, you can subtract the fiber from the number of carbs, too! 

Wheatberry Salad
Six 1/2-cup Servings 

3 cups cooked wheat berries
2 scallions (green onions), chopped
1 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup lite soy sauce
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup light extra-virgin olive oil
2 teaspoons grated orange or lemon rind 

Mix wheat berries, onion, walnuts and cranberries. Set aside. Whisk remaining ingredients until emulsified and then pour this dressing over the wheat berry mixture. Stir and refrigerate for one hour or more. 

Beautiful on a bed of spinach or lettuce, served with crisp green beans or another vegetable, sliced tomatoes and orange slices. Makes a delicious accompaniment to any poultry, fish or meat. This salad can be made with wild rice instead of wheat berries. It is delicious both ways. 

~Lois 

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Diabetic, Lunch, My life, Side Dishes, Supper, Uncategorized, Whole Grain and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.